IRS rules state stimulus checks aren't taxable after all

IRS rules state stimulus checks aren’t taxable after all

Many businesses featured on Money advertise with us. The opinions are our own, but the compensation and
extensive research determines where and how businesses can appear. Learn more about how we make money.

If you received a relief payment or stimulus check from your state last year, good news: you don’t need to report it on your federal tax return. Probably.

After much deliberation, the IRS has issued new direction Friday clarifying that residents of certain states who received tax refunds in 2022 do not need to report those refunds as income.

Last year, many states distributed these special relief payments to eligible residents to help them cope price increase and energy costs as well as pandemic-related expenses. The IRS had previously advised taxpayers to wait to drop off their taxes this spring until he determines whether state payments would be taxed federally.

Ads by Money. We may be compensated if you click on this ad.Advertisement

Have you started filing your 2022 taxes?

Select your state to begin the process of filing your taxes with TurboTax.

HawaiiAlaskaFloridaCaroline from the southGeorgiaAlabamaNorth CarolinaTennesseeIRRhode IslandCTConnecticutMYMassachusettsMaineNHNew HampshireVermontVermontnew YorkNew JerseyNew JerseyOFDelawareMARYLANDMarylandWest VirginiaOhioMichiganArizonaNevadaUtahColoradoNew MexicoSouth DakotaIowaIndianaIllinoisMinnesotaWisconsinMissouriLouisianaVirginiaCCwashington d.c.IdahoCaliforniaNorth DakotaWashingtonOregonMontanaWyomingNebraskaKansasOklahomaPennsylvaniaKentuckyMississippiArkansasTexas

File your 2022 taxes today!

The rules

According to the IRS, residents of the following states do not need to report their state relief payments as income. These states have classified their payments as general welfare or disaster relief payments, which, like the federal 2020 and 2021 stimulus checks — are not legally taxable.

  • Alaska
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Maine
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • new York
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island

Residents of the following four states do not have to report their state payments, which were technically refunds of state taxes paid, if they claimed the standard deduction or if they itemized their deductions but did not receive a tax benefit.

  • Georgia
  • Massachusetts
  • Caroline from the south
  • Virginia

The IRS added that New York and Illinois issued multiple payments, one of which was also considered a state tax refund. These payments also fall under these rules. Alaska residents do not need to report additional energy assistance payments, but the annual permanent fund dividend is taxable.

money tips

Tax season has begun and these new guidelines mean that taxpayers who have been waiting to file their returns can now do so. The official due date is April 18 for most people. If you want to receive your refund quickly, it’s best to file as soon as possible, file electronically and select direct deposit as your delivery method.

Ads by Money. We may be compensated if you click on this ad.AdvertisementAds by Money Disclaimer

Improve Your Potential Refund Amount – Prepare and File Your Federal Income Tax Return Using Tax Preparation Software

Tax preparation software companies like TurboTax will help you improve your earning potential.

File my taxes

More money :

IRS tells millions of taxpayers not to file their taxes yet

Here’s when tax season starts in 2023 (and how to get your refund ASAP)

How to file taxes for free in 2023

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *